US Congress adopted resolution against return of Russia to G7until it ceases occupation of Crimea and Donbass

Марина ПищулинаQHA media
04 December 2019, 12:42
Марина ПищулинаQHA media
04 December 2019, 12:42

The House of Representatives of the US Congress adopted a resolution calling for not to return Russia to the G7, in particular, due to the occupation of Crimea and the war in the Donbass.

This follows from the information on the Congress website.

339 congressmen expressed support for the document, and 71 voted against.

In a resolution, parliamentarians reaffirmed support for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine. They also condemned the aggressive actions of the Russian Federation, including the illegal occupation of Crimea and destabilization in eastern Ukraine.

Congressmen also called on the leaders of the G7 to oppose the possible return of the Russian Federation to G7 until it ends the occupation of the territory of Ukraine including Crimea and ceases attacks on democracies around the world.

The G7 includes seven countries: USA, Canada, UK, Germany, France, Italy and Japan.

For the first time, the Russian Federation joined the meeting of the G7 in 1991 as a listener. So, until 1997, the summit was called G7 + 1, after which, from 1997 until 2014, the group worked as the G8.

In 2014, Russia was expelled from the G8 for the annexation of Crimea, aggression against Ukraine and the war in the Donbass, and the summit, which was supposed to be held in Sochi in June of that year, was canceled.

French President Emmanuel Macron, after meeting with Russian President Vladimir Putin on August 20, noted that the possibility of returning to the G8 format and “reanimating” relations between the Russian Federation and the EU depends on progress in resolving the “Ukrainian crisis”.