Ukraine imposes sanctions on Russian officials, companies: 26 foreigners, 81 entities

Canan Kevser
24 March 2021, 10:01
Canan Kevser
24 March 2021, 10:01

President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelensky signed a decree on March 23, placing sanctions on a number of Russian officials and legal entities.

The decree targeted 26 foreigners and 81 legal entities, blocking their assets and restricting travel or operations in the country.

Among the sanctions-hit Russian citizens are officials in the Interior Ministry, security services, and lawmakers.

The list of companies targeted includes insurance giant Rosgosstrakhm and a raft of firms illegally operating in Crimea, a temporarily occupied territory of Ukraine.

The sanctions also imposed against Russian state-controlled media "RT", the "TASS news agency", "", "", and others. In the case of media, the sanctions also restrict or terminate the use of telecommunications services.

The list also includes French members of the European Parliament who visited occupied Crimea in 2020 without permission from Ukrainian authorities.

Some French members of the European Parliament also get sanctioned over illegal visit to Russia-occupied Crimea in 2020.

Russian occupation of Crimea

Kyiv has announced several rounds of sanctions on Russian persons and entities since relations nosedived after Moscow seized the Crimean region and backed separatists in eastern Ukraine.

On February 26, 2014, Ukrainian territories of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the City of Sevastopol were illegally annexed by the Russian Federation with military power.

On March 16, 2014, Russia held a so-called referendum on the status of Crimea on the occupied peninsula. Two days later, on March 18, 2014, the Kremlin signed the so-called Treaty on the Admission of the Republic of Crimea to the Russian Federation.

Most UN member states declared illegitimate the rigged Crimean referendum held by the invaders. All influential international organizations declared the occupation and attempted annexation of the peninsula illegal and condemned Russia's actions. A number of Western countries also imposed economic sanctions on Russia.