Russia introduces sanctions against eight EU citizens, including EP president

Canan Kevser
30 April 2021, 19:03
Canan Kevser
30 April 2021, 19:03

Russia has banned the EU citizens and officials, including the President of the European Parliament, from entering Russian territory.

 Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation announced that the entry ban introduced as a response to EU Council’s restrictions on six Russian citizens dated March 2 and 22, 2021.

Russian Ministry claimed that the EU restrictions are "accompanied by anti-Russia hysterics fuelled by the Western media."

"The independence of Russia’s foreign and domestic policies is being openly challenged. This is being done deliberately and with encouragement from the United States that is not concealing its interest in turning Europe into an arena of serious geopolitical confrontation," it added.

According to the report, Russia's MFA listed the banned persons as follows: 

  • Ivars ABOLINS, Chairman of the Republic of Latvia National Electronic Mass Media Council;
  • Maris BALTINS, Director of the State Language Centre of the Republic of Latvia;
  • Jacques MAIRE, member of the French delegation at the Council of Europe’s Parliamentary Assembly;
  • Jorg RAUPACH, Head of Berlin’s Prosecutor’s Office, Federal Republic of Germany;
  • David Maria SASSOLI, President of the European Parliament;
  • Asa SCOTT, Head of the laboratory of Chemical, Biological, Radiation and Nuclear Security at the Total Defence Research Institute of the Kingdom of Sweden;
  • Ilmar TOMUSK, Head of the Language Department of the Republic of Estonia;
  • Vera JOUROVA, Vice-President of the European Commission for Values and Transparency.

As reported, Russian Federation's losses reach $160 billion due to the economic sanctions imposed against its illegal occupation of Crimea.