EU does not recognise Putin's ban on land ownership in occupied Crimea

Canan Kevser
23 March 2021, 20:30
Canan Kevser
23 March 2021, 20:30

European Union said that it does not recognise the Russian presidential decree adding most of Crimea and Sevastopol to the list of border territories of the Russian Federation in which non-Russian citizens are prevented from owning land.

Press service of the External Action Service (EEAS) published the relevant statement made by EU spokesperson on Tuesday, March 23.

"European Union does not recognise this decree and considers its entry into force as yet another attempt to forcibly integrate the illegally-annexed peninsula into Russia," reads the statement.

EU reaffirmed that it does not recognise the illegal annexation of the Crimean peninsula by Russia, which is a clear violation of international law.

"The decree is also a violation of international humanitarian law, as it is another step towards the imposition of Russian citizenship on the peninsula. This has led to the arbitrary deprivation of property," it added.

Calling on Russia to stop all violations of international law on the Crimean peninsula, the EU stated that it is unwavering in its support for Ukraine’s independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognised borders, and welcomed Ukraine’s diplomatic efforts to this end.

"The European Union will continue to enforce its non-recognition policy of the illegal annexation of the Crimean peninsula, including through restrictive measures."

As reported earlier, the relevant decree signed by Russian President Vladimir Putin has come into force on 20 March 2021, a year after its adoption.