AQMESCIT/ SIMFEROPIL, 15.11.10 (QHA) –Leading sportsmen of Crimea on Fudokan-Shotokan Karate-do, participants and prize-winners of the European Fudokan-Shotokan Karate-do Championship have been feted in the Council of Ministers of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea (ARC) in Aqmescit (Simferopil) on November 15. Head of the Republican Committee of ARC on Physical Training and Sports Petro Kashchavtsev has congratulated the sportsmen and gave them honorary certificates.
“It should be noted that this year the Crimean team participated apart from the National Ukrainian team and took prize-winning places”, he underscored.
Five sportsmen represented the Crimean team at the European Championship. In particular, sub-master sportsmen of Ukraine Natalia Tsariova and Yurii Yemets became the winners in the Enbu discipline (man vs woman), the bronze medal of the championship in the Fukugo discipline went to the sub-master of Ukraine Anatolii Kuzmenko. Natalia Tsariova ranked fourth in the 16-18 age category of the Kata discipline, Yurii Yemets ranked seventh in the 19-21 age category in the same discipline and 5-8th place in Kumite, Ervin Safet took the 5-8th place in the age category of 21 and over in Kumite discipline.
It should be noted that our compatriot Ervin Safet was unfairly disqualified, which bothered him to take higher prize-winning places.
“At present I am involved in coaching. There are 8-12-years old in my group. I am not going to rest on my laurels. Continuing trainings is the most important thing today”, told Ervin Safet.
The delegation was also composed of the judges Andrii Chepelenko, who performed qualifying standards for ‘A’ category international certified judge in the Kata discipline and ‘C’ category in Kumite, as well as Oleh Simonov, who performed standards of the ‘C’ category international certified judge in the Kata discipline.
Reference: The European Traditional Fudokan-Shotokan Karate-do Championship has been held in the city of Limassol (the Greek part of Cyprus) on November 5-7, 2010. In general, 460 sportsmen from 23 countries participated in the event. The two teams – the National Ukrainian team and the team of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea – represented Ukraine at the championship.

Evelina İlâs – Aliye Bekir