Parliament of Crimea has officially declared Simferopol as the capital city of Crimea.

Out of the 70 MPs, 69 voted in favor of the decision, during the Parliament session Dec 24. 

Crimean MPs also voted to declare March 16, the day when Crimean referendum was conducted, an official holiday.

The parliament also approved three other official holidays in Crimea: the Day of State Flag (January 19), the Day of Crimea (January 20) and the Day of Constitution of Crimea (April 11).

The Crimean peninsula was annexed by the Russian Federation in March, shortly after Ukraine's former president Viktor Yanukovych was ousted from power following the "Euromaidan" protests in Kiev.