The Russian State Duma has ratified a treaty between Russia and the authorities of Crimea on the peninsula's admission into Russia and formation within the Russian Federation of new subjects - the Republic of Crimea and the City of Sevastopol, UNIAN reports.

Out of 443 deputies of State Duma votes for this decision, one abstained.  

Under this agreement, the transitional period is effective until January 1, 2015 during which Crimea and Sevastopol shall integrate in economic, financial credit and legal systems and the system of Russia's public authorities.

Photo: Reuters