Ukrainian President Poroshenko has signed a law allowing the government to impose sanctions on Russian companies and individuals suspected of supporting and financing separatist rebels in eastern Ukraine, Ukrainian Parliament reported on its website on Wednesday.

The legislation allows for more than 20 types of sanctions, including travel bans and asset freezes, restrictions on trade, the transit of resources, and transportation of goods across Ukraine.

It does not specifically impose sanctions, but provides a legal foundation for them. Specific sanctions will have to be approved by the National Security and Defense Council.

The government has drawn up a list of 172 citizens of Russia and other countries, and of 65 Russian companies, which could be targeted by sanctions. The list has not been made public.