Oslo (QHA) -

A total of fifteen Norwegian diplomatic missions will be closed through to the end of the week in the countries of the Middle East and North Africa, an official spokesman for the Norwegian Foreign Ministry said Monday night, reports Itar-Tass.

Ministry officials say the temporary closures will embrace the embassies in Algeria, Egypt, Kenya, Morocco, and Saudi Arabia.

As reported, the embassies Norway followed Britain, Canada, and France in heeding the U.S. security warnings and announcing a provisional closure of its embassies in the African countries and the Middle East due to a growth of the terrorist threat.

Norway’s Military Intelligence Service issued warnings regarding a possibility of terrorist acts against Norwegian government officials.

The Foreign Ministry did not specify any information on the nature of the terrorist threat but said the authorities proceeded from the same information that had forced the U.S. to take an appropriate step.