(QHA) -

The Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine will introduce a special border regime for a number of districts and populated areas of Donetsk, Luhansk and Kharkiv regions, as well as two districts in Kherson region which border Crimea, starting from Feb. 10 for the duration of the anti-terrorist operation.

According to the document, the regime is to be introduced in order to improve Ukraine's national security, the security of citizens, the protection of their rights, freedoms and legitimate interests.

The document is based on the principles of the inviolability of the state border, territorial integrity, political and economic independence and the sovereignty of Ukraine.

Tens of thousands of civilians have been caught in the crossfire between federal troops and pro-Russian rebels in south-east Ukraine.

The German newspaper Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung reported February 8 that German intelligence sources have suggested the actual death toll in eastern Ukraine may be as high as 50,000 people, still UN says the conflict has claimed at least 5,358 lives.

As for Crimea, it seceded from Ukraine and was annexed by Russia in March following a local referendum, which was condemned by the majority of the world countries as illegitimate.