(QHA) -

The Republic of Kosovo joins the United States and the European Union and imposes sanctions against Russia over Moscow's role in the Ukrainian internal conflict, as it is stated on the Kosovo Government's official website.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the Cabinet of Ministers of Kosovo Wednesday.

According to the statement, the Government of the Republic of Kosovo has decided to impose sanctions out of solidarity with the United States and the European Union and to show the latter that Kosovo is a reliable ally for its partners.

However there is no diplomatic relations between Russia and Kosovo, as Russia do not recognize Kosovo as an independent state considering it to be an integral part of Serbia.

Note: Kosovo is a partially recognized state in Southeastern Europe, which declared independence from Serbia in February 2008 as the Republic of Kosovo. While Serbia recognizes the Republic's governance of the territory, it still continues to claim it as its own Autonomous Province of Kosovo and Metohija.

Kosovo is a member of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), World Bank, International Road and Transport Union (IRU), Regional Cooperation Council, Council of Europe Development Bank, Venice Commission and the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development.[9] Within the European Union, 23 of 28 members have recognized the Republic; Cyprus, Greece, Romania, Slovakia, and Spain have not.