To prevent the import of embargoed food products the Russian law enforcement agencies have allocated a special hotline for those who want to report on this kind of violation. The General Prosecutor’s Office in Moscow is worried about the import of products subject to embargo, since the latter may be spoiled and therefore may harm the health of local residents.

The "black list" of banned countries has been renewed and now it includes Albania, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Montenegro. Ukraine may end up being in the list in case EU-Ukraine Association Agreement takes effect.

Just a reminder, on August 6, Russian President Vladimir Putin signed a decree banning the import of food from the European Union and America.