The European Parliament welcomed the progress reports published by the Commission on the implementation by Georgia and Ukraine of their respective Visa Liberalisation Action Plans, says a joint motion for a resolution published on the website of the European Parliament.

According to the motion, Georgia and Ukraine now meet the requirements.

The European Parliament expects the Council and the Member States to proceed to grant the two countries a visa-free travel regime without delay, says the motion.

The EU Parliament commended Moldova for the good implementation of the visa-free regime in place since April 2014, which ‘represented a good example for the whole region’.

The EU Parliament condemned actions taken by Russia ‘to undermine or derail the pro-European course taken by the three association countries’, and called for efforts to be stepped up to counter disinformation and improve the strategic communication of EU policies and activities in the Eastern Neighbourhood.