(QHA) -

The European Union has agreed to add 13 Ukrainian separatists and five entities to the bloc's sanctions list.

Ambassadors from the 28 EU countries meeting in Brussels on November 27 targeted the separatists with asset freezes and travel bans and the entities with asset freezes.

An EU source quoted by Reuters says the separatists were targeted because of their "involvement in action undermining Ukraine's territorial integrity."

The names are expected to be published in the EU's Official Journal on November 29. According to diplomats, the entities targeted are mainly political groups rather than companies.

The EU has so far imposed visa bans and asset freezes on 119 people and 23 entities over Ukraine.

The latest measures come after EU foreign ministers earlier this month concluded that little improvement had occurred on the ground in Ukraine since a September 5 agreement which included a cease-fire between Ukraine and the pro-Moscow separatists in the east of the country.