(QHA) -

The European Union member states have reached an agreement over introduction of sectoral sanctions against Russia, the EU said on Tuesday.

"Today the European Union has agreed a package of significant additional restrictive measures targeting sectoral cooperation and exchanges with the Russian Federation," according to a statement on behalf of European Council President Herman Van Rompuy.

In particular, these measures will "limit access to EU capital markets for Russian state-owned financial institutions, impose an embargo on trade in arms, establish an export ban for dual use goods for military end users, and curtail Russian access to sensitive technologies particularly in the field of the oil sector."

"This package reinforces the recently expanded listing of persons and entities undermining Ukrainian territorial integrity and sovereignty, including the so-called "cronies", the suspension of EIB and EBRD financing, the restriction of investment and trade with Crimea and Sevastopol and the reassessment of the Russia EU bilateral cooperation with a view to reducing the level of the cooperation," reads the statement.

The United States also welcomed additional moves of European countries aimed at exerting pressure on Russia over the Ukrainian crisis, White House spokesman Josh Earnest said.