The European Union has released the names of 15 individuals targeted by fresh sanctions because of their roles in the Ukraine crisis, RFE/RL reports.

The list, released on April 29, includes General Valery Gerasimov, chief of the Russian General Staff, and Lieutenant General Igor Sergun, identified as head of the Russian military intelligence agency (GRU).

Russian Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Kozak and pro-Russian separatist leaders in Crimea and the eastern Ukrainian cities of Luhansk and Donetsk were also on the list.

Also on the list are Oleg Belaventsev, President Vladimir Putin's personal envoy to Crimea, and Oleg Savelyev, the newly appointed head of the Russian government's Crimea ministry.

To recall, The United States also introduced a package of sanctions against higher officials of the Russian Federation and companies connected with these people.