(QHA) -

The European Union has decided to extend until September an initial group of sanctions against Russian and pro-Russia separatist officials due to the continued fighting in eastern Ukraine and has plans for further action.

"We have decided to extend the restrictive measures until September this year," – announced the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Federica Mogherini following the meeting of the European Council.

The extension was agreed to by all 28 EU member countries, including Greece, which had objected to the extension of the sanction the previous day.

The ministers also agreed to draw up a list of additional individuals to be potentially slapped with sanctions when they convene in Brussels on February 9.