The European Parliament Committee on Foreign Affairs adopted, by a majority votes, the report to speed up the granting of visa-free regime to Ukraine.

The document was adopted in Strasbourg on Thursday, July 7, Ukrinform reports.

“The visa-free regime should be granted as soon as possible and without any delay, which is a recognition of the country's progress made on its European path after the Euromaidan protests held two years ago when the Ukrainian nation regained its European way and European democratic values,” reads the Committee's report by the Polish MP Jacek Saryusz-Wolski.

The Polish politician strongly appealed to his colleagues and called to "enthusiastically" support this issue, as Ukraine, according to him, deserves the visa-free regime with the EU.

In addition, the members of the Committee noted that the abolition of visa requirements for Ukraine should take place independently of the adoption by the EU a new mechanism of suspension of visa-free regime for all third countries.

“The Foreign Affairs Committee calls on the responsible for this issue Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs to make and accept in the first reading the European Commission's proposals,” the Saryusz-Wolski’s report says.

It should be noted that the MPs took a strong stand against the two amendments to the draft report rejecting the visa-free regime for Ukraine. They were initiative by a French MP of right radical group ‘Europe of Nations and Freedom’ Jean-Luc Shaffhauzer and Greek nationalist Georgios Epitideos.

Photo: Internet