Moscow (QHA) -

Ceremony of signing agreement on accession of Crimea to the Russian Federation took place in Kremlin.

The agreement was signed by President Vladimir Putin and self-proclaimed Crimean authorities, namely by head of Parliament Vladimir Konstantinov and Prime Minister Sergey Aksyonov.  Sevastopol city was represented by its “mayor” Alexey Chaliy. 

Before signing, Russian President Putin addressed State Duma deputies, Federation Council members, the governors of Russian regions and civil society representatives.

Russian Federal Council ratified the agreement.

Official site of Kremlin posted information that the Republic of Crimea is considered part of Russian Federation from the date of signing the agreement.

At the ceremony, flags of Russia, Crimea and Sevastopol were put up.