The Cabinet of Ministers abolished the Department of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and Sevastopol, and established the position of State Commissioner for Crimean and Sevastopol Affairs instead.

According to a decree, signed on August, 19 by Prime Minister Arseniy Yatsenyuk, the position of Commissioner of Crimea pertains to the first category positions of civil servants, and in terms of salary is equal to the position of Deputy Minister, reports TSN TV news service.

The decree also approves the status of the Commissioner for Crimean Affairs.

It should be reminded: last August, President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko appointed Mustafa Cemilev the Commissioner of President of Ukraine on the Affairs of the Crimean Tatar people. The Commissioner position is established to preserve and promote the ethnic, cultural, linguistic and religious identity of the Crimean Tatar people as a part of Ukraine.