Members of Crimean Parliament have voted for the head of Republic, considering three candidacies nominated by the Russian president Vladimir Putin.

Sergey Aksyonov was appointed the head of Crimea. 75 MPs of Crimean Parliament voted for the decision.

Aksyonov was appointed acting head of Crimea on April 14, 2014. Crimean Parliament on July 30 adopted a law on election of head of the republic. Under the document, regional parliament members elect one of the candidates nominated by the Russian president.

Among the nominees there were then acting head of Crimea Sergey Aksyonov, Crimean Minister of Ecology and Natural Resources Gennady Narayev and State Duma member Alexander Terentyev.