(QHA) -

The UN General Assembly has passed a resolution on the "territorial integrity of Ukraine" declaring Crimea's recent secession vote invalid, Radio Liberty reported.

One hundred countries voted in favor of the resolution, with 11 against and 58 abstaining.

The 11 that opposed the resolution were Armenia, Belarus, Bolivia, Cuba, North Korea, Nicaragua, Russia, Sudan, Syria, Venezuela, and Zimbabwe.

While Armenia voted against the resolution, Azerbaijan voted in favor. Azerbaijan says the Nagorno-Karabakh territory currently under Armenian control rightfully belongs to Azerbaijan.

Ukraine's acting Foreign Minister Andriy Deshchytsya was the first speaker at the session ahead of the vote.

He said international security agreements have been "seriously compromised" by Russia's unrecognized annexation of Crimea.

"For a month now all possible and impossible boundaries of international law, so laboriously nourished by the mankind, especially by this institution, have been ruthlessly trampled," he said. "What has happened in my country is a direct violation of the UN Charter. Many still struggle to grasp the reality. It happened in Ukraine, in the very heart of Europe; it happened in the 21st century." - he said.

Photo AP