(QHA) -

Canada announced Tuesday new sanctions against Moscow and its sympathizers, including the state oil giant Rosneft, as heavy fighting continues in Debaltseve amid agreed cease fire.

The new economic sanctions and travel bans target 37 Russian and Ukrainian individuals, as well as economic sanctions against 17 Russian and Ukrainian entities, including Rosneft.

"Our Government remains steadfast in its commitment to stand with the people of Ukraine in the face of the Putin regime’s ongoing military aggression, which has already cost the lives of more than 5,300 people," Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper said.

"Canada's position remains clear: we recognize the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine and will never recognize the illegal Russian occupation of any part of the country."

The move was made in coordination with the European Union and the United States, which have also punished Moscow for what they say is its military backing of the separatists in eastern Ukraine.

Russian President Vladimir Putin rejects the accusation and describes the Russian fighters seen in Ukraine as volunteers.