The project Turkvision, branded as an alternative to Eurovision after Turkey snubbed the show displeased with the voting system, has now become a reality after the official signing ceremony in Eskisehir on September 21, with the attendance of Education Minister Nabi Avcı.

A total of 20 countries will participate in the yearly event, among them Turkey, Azerbaijan, Northern Cyprus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Georgia, the Russian Federation, Tatarstan, Bashkortostan, Moldova, Autonomous Republic of Crimea, Ukraine, Bosnia, Macedonia, Altai region, Chuvashia, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous region and Belarus.

This year, two contestants will represent Crimea. Fazile Ibraimova, the Grand-prix winner of ‘Oriental Bazar’ festival will be the first one. The second contestant will be chosen by sms voting.

To be noted, Education Minister of Turkey Nabi Avcı stressed that the contest was not, as many suggested, an alternative to the European version organized since 1956, but intended to be within the scope of the Turkic world cultural capital events. The cultural capital flag is carried this year by Eskisehir.

“Turkvision does not need to be compared to Eurovision. It will have its place in the Turkic world with its own brand value. Whether we participate or not in Eurovision, I hope that Turkvision will move forward in its own path, growing and expanding year-by-year,” Avcı said, adding that the initial idea was to create a meeting space for young musicians.

The competition will be held with the support of the organization «TURKSOY», Anatolian University and Turk TV channel Müzik. The semi-finals of the contest will be organized between Dec. 19 and 21, while the final, where only 12 of the initial 20 participants will take part, is scheduled for Dec. 23.